LiveZilla Live Chat Software
Importitall
Register/Login Login Contact UsContacts BlogBlog
Cart Items : 0 | Cart Total : R0
USA Categories
Site Security
Books > Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Family Life > B00O6V45UK
  1. As Night Falls: A Novel
    Image(s) provided for illustrative purposes and may differ from the actual product
  2. As Night Falls: A Novel

    [B00O6V45UK]
    Delivery: 10-20 Working Days
    Customer Ratings (147 reviews)
    Not Available / Digital Item

     pinterest 
Additional Information

From the acclaimed author of Ruin Falls and Cover of Snow comes a breathless new novel of psychological suspense about a dark, twisted turn of events that could shatter a family—a read perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.

Sandy Tremont has always tried to give her family everything. But, as the sky darkens over the Adirondacks and a heavy snowfall looms, an escaped murderer with the power to take it all away draws close.
 
In her isolated home in the shadowy woods, Sandy prepares dinner after a fight with her daughter, Ivy. Upstairs, the fifteen-year-old—smart, brave, and with every reason to be angry tonight—keeps her distance from her mother. Sandy’s husband, Ben, a wilderness guide, arrives late to find a home simmering with unease.
 
Nearby, two desperate men on the run make their way through the fading light, bloodstained and determined to leave no loose ends or witnesses. After almost twenty years as prison cellmates, they have become a deadly team: Harlan the muscle, Nick the mind and will. As they approach a secluded house and look through its windows to see a cozy domestic scene, Nick knows that here he will find what he’s looking for . . . before he disappears forever.
 
Opening the door to the Tremont home, Nick brings not only a legacy of terror but a secret that threatens to drag Sandy with him into the darkness.

Praise for As Night Falls
 
“Electric . . . Jenny Milchman mixes psychological thrills with adventure . . . to shoot her readers with an extreme jolt of adrenaline. . . . Milchman’s talent for building atmosphere will have readers wondering if they’re shivering from the story’s excitement or northern New York’s winter cold.”Shelf Awareness (starred review)
 
“Great psychological thrillers work on two levels: as action-based mysteries and as emotionally resonant personal stories. Jenny Milchman balances both . . . with equal intensity. . . . You may not be able to finish [As Night Falls] in one sitting, but you’ll want to.”BookPage
 
“Gripping . . . a fast-paced tale that should keep readers eagerly turning pages.”Publishers Weekly
 
Praise for Jenny Milchman
 
Ruin Falls
 
“Tight and suspenseful . . . Milchman has a gift that allows her to delve deep into the mind and psyche of her characters, and fans of dark plots like the works of Gillian Flynn will find another author to savor.”RT Book Reviews 
 
“Extreme, heart-pounding action . . . essential for psychological thriller fanatics.”—Library Journal
 
“A complex and intriguing tale, adeptly pacing the narrative as danger escalates.”Publishers Weekly
 
Cover of Snow
 
“Everything a great suspense novel should be—tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying . . . Let’s hope this is the start of a long career.”—Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Personal
 
“An emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns . . . a richly woven story.”Booklist (starred review)
 
“Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters.”The Seattle Times


From the Hardcover edition.

Similar Products

Runs DeepA Necessary End: A NovelWinter at the Door: A Novel (Lizzie Snow Book 1)Deadly ThymeThe Absence of Mercy: A NovelAbductedThe TestA Small Fortune (Fortune Series Book 1)
Specifications

Country
USA
Author
Jenny Milchman
Binding
Kindle Edition
EISBN
9780553394825
Format
Kindle eBook
Label
Ballantine Books
Manufacturer
Ballantine Books
NumberOfPages
385
PublicationDate
2015-06-30
Publisher
Ballantine Books
ReleaseDate
2015-06-30
Studio
Ballantine Books
Most Helpful Customer Reviews

This is a thriller that for some reason isn’t all that suspenseful or thrilling. That might be a weird thing to say since it’s actually pretty action-packed.

It’s about two escaped convicts who stop by a family’s home shortly after their escape to ostensibly gather some supplies, but get stuck there as a winter storm rolls in. One of the convicts is a real sociopath, and we learn who he is – and his connection to the family – as the story progresses.

Unfortunately, all the twists and mysteries were completely predictable. Not only that, but I was bored by the repetitive nature of the narrative: Someone in the family does something stupid to try to escape, the bad guys stop them in their tracks. Repeat. Like I said, not a lot of genuine suspense.

The most interesting parts of the book, for me, were the flashbacks to the sociopathic convict’s childhood. We learn that he was the product of a delusional, overly... Read more
This book holds a special place in my heart because not only do I consider Jenny a friend (she helped start #30Authors), but she thanked me and a few other bloggers in the acknowledgements section of this book, which still amazes me. That said, I tried very hard to review this independently of my personal feelings and I loved her style before we became friends. So, on to the book!

Two convicts escape from prison and head toward the Canadian border, only to have things work out differently from what they expected. Sound familiar? It should, because something very similar happened in real life not that long ago. Fortunately for Jenny Milchman, the publicity surrounding the event made for the perfect (and free) advertisement for her new book, As Night Falls, because the premise is very similar. Of course, she wrote the book before the escape, so the similarities end there, but it’s still an interesting turn of events.

As for the book, it stands on its own even... Read more
Sandy Tremont lives with her husband Ben and daughter Ivy in a large house in the Adirondacks. Their lifestyle is comfortable, and they both enjoy the fruits of their labor. But things are about to change in their quiet lifestyle in a way that they can only imagine.

Nearby, two prisoners, Nick and Harlan, manage to escape while out on a work detail. After speeding away from the scene in a stolen SUV, Nick and Harlan shatter Sandy's world by showing up on her doorstep.

What happens over the next several hours can only be described as an unbelievable nightmare for Sandy and her family, as Nick and Harlan ransack their home and help themselves to whatever they need. But this is only the beginning of the story, for Nick and Sandy share much more than a chance meeting. Nick had planned to come here all along, and the reason why will definitely surprise the reader.

This is the first book I've read by Jenny Milchman, and overall, I thought it was a good... Read more
Please Note

The authorised South African distributor of this product is under no obligation to honour the manufacture's guarantees/warranties or to provide after-sales service.

Please note that this item is imported from the USA, and is designed to be used in the USA. In addition, if the unit is powered it will come with a US plug and an adapter/transformer may be required. Please click here for more information on power requirements, or check with us if you are unsure or need any assistance!

Please also note that certain items cannot be imported, these include Alcohol, Animals, Batteries, Flammable Materials, Currency, Food, Furs, Chemicals, Explosives, Medications, Plants, Seeds, Supplements, Pressurized Cans, Tactical Equipment, Vitamins, Weaponry and Weaponry Accessories. In these cases, the item and information is displayed for reference purposes only. If you are not sure if we are permitted to bring an item, please send us an e-mail with a link to the item to confirm.

Please also ensure that you are ordering the correct item for your particular application as returns to the USA are costly. Product reviews are also provided for most of our items, which can give you a good idea for possible things to look out for and the quality of the item. By clicking Add to Cart, you are confirming that the item is correct and you accept the conditions listed here.