LiveZilla Live Chat Software
Importitall
Register/Login Login Contact UsContacts BlogBlog
Cart Items : 0 | Cart Total : R0
Books > Arts & Photography > Music > Musical Genres > Popular > 0691150761
  1. Banding Together: How Communities Create Genres in Popular Music
    Banding Together: How Communities Create Genres in Popular Music
    Banding Together: How Communities Create Genres in Popular Music
    Image(s) provided for illustrative purposes and may differ from the actual product
  2. Banding Together: How Communities Create Genres in Popular Music

    [0691150761]
    Delivery: 10-20 Working Days
    Customer Ratings (3 reviews)
    Price R1240.00

     pinterest 
Additional Information

Why do some music styles gain mass popularity while others thrive in small niches? Banding Together explores this question and reveals the attributes that together explain the growth of twentieth-century American popular music. Drawing on a vast array of examples from sixty musical styles--ranging from rap and bluegrass to death metal and South Texas polka, and including several created outside the United States--Jennifer Lena uncovers the shared grammar that allows us to understand the cultural language and evolution of popular music.

What are the common economic, organizational, ideological, and aesthetic traits among contemporary genres? Do genres follow patterns in their development? Lena discovers four dominant forms--Avant-garde, Scene-based, Industry-based, and Traditionalist--and two dominant trajectories that describe how American pop music genres develop. Outside the United States there exists a fifth form: the Government-purposed genre, which she examines in the music of China, Serbia, Nigeria, and Chile. Offering a rare analysis of how music communities operate, she looks at the shared obstacles and opportunities creative people face and reveals the ways in which people collaborate around ideas, artworks, individuals, and organizations that support their work.

Specifications

Country
USA
Author
Jennifer C. Lena
Binding
Hardcover
EAN
9780691150765
ISBN
0691150761
Label
Princeton University Press
Manufacturer
Princeton University Press
NumberOfItems
1
NumberOfPages
256
PublicationDate
2012-02-12
Publisher
Princeton University Press
Studio
Princeton University Press
Most Helpful Customer Reviews

I think we are living in a golden age in the study of cultural production. Jenn Lena's book, Banding Together, is a wonderful discussion of how musical scenes form and grow. It has really helped my clarify my thinking about how people get together and produce cultural or intellectual products. The model, I think, can be generalized to other fields as well. Definitely should be read by social scientists interested in markets and culture, as well as music fans who enjoy an analytical approach to the art.
This is an important book in the tradition of Sociology of Arts and Sociology of Culture. Within the Sociology of Art tradition, it is a direct heir of Pete Peterson's effort to understand how genres evolve (trajectories) and the concrete social millieus driving these trajectories. Lena does a great job in advancing this effort by proposing a new taxonomy (Avant-Garde, Scene-based, Industry-based and Traditionalist genres). In the Sociology of Culture tradition, she builts on the efforts of DiMaggio and other sociologists, and proposes a model on classification systems. I believe that this book builds solid bridges between this two fields. A must read for scholars on both disciplines.
Good read for those interested in Sociology and/or music. Can sometimes be a difficult read and requires attention as its written from a very academic frame but the author invests in carefully detailing her taxonomy for the reader. Examples given are varied and will allow most readers to learn about a style they've never considered or consider one they know in a different way.
Please Note

The authorised South African distributor of this product is under no obligation to honour the manufacture's guarantees/warranties or to provide after-sales service.

Please note that this item is imported from the USA, and is designed to be used in the USA. In addition, if the unit is powered it will come with a US plug and an adapter/transformer may be required. Please click here for more information on power requirements, or check with us if you are unsure or need any assistance!

Please also note that certain items cannot be imported, these include Alcohol, Animals, Batteries, Flammable Materials, Currency, Food, Furs, Chemicals, Explosives, Medications, Plants, Seeds, Supplements, Pressurized Cans, Tactical Equipment, Vitamins, Weaponry and Weaponry Accessories. In these cases, the item and information is displayed for reference purposes only. If you are not sure if we are permitted to bring an item, please send us an e-mail with a link to the item to confirm.

Please also ensure that you are ordering the correct item for your particular application as returns to the USA are costly. Product reviews are also provided for most of our items, which can give you a good idea for possible things to look out for and the quality of the item. By clicking Add to Cart, you are confirming that the item is correct and you accept the conditions listed here.