LiveZilla Live Chat Software
Importitall
Register/Login Login Contact UsContacts BlogBlog
Cart Items : 0 | Cart Total : R0
USA Categories
Site Security
Books > Cookbooks, Food & Wine > Special Diet > Allergies > 1594632499
  1. Grain of Truth: The Real Case For and Against Wheat and Gluten
    Grain of Truth: The Real Case For and Against Wheat and Gluten
    Grain of Truth: The Real Case For and Against Wheat and Gluten
    Image(s) provided for illustrative purposes and may differ from the actual product
  2. Grain of Truth: The Real Case For and Against Wheat and Gluten

    [1594632499]
    Delivery: 10-20 Working Days
    Price R529.00

     pinterest 
Additional Information

A Pollan-esque look at the truth about wheat: meal or menace?

No topic in nutrition is more controversial than wheat. While mega-sellers like Grain Brain and Wheat Belly suggest that wheat may be the new asbestos, Stephen Yafa finds that it has been wrongly demonized. His revealing book sets the record straight, breaking down the botany of the wheat plant we’ve hijacked for our own use, the science of nutrition and digestion, the effects of mass production on our health, and questions about gluten and fiber—all to point us toward a better, richer diet.

Wheat may be the most important food in human history, reaching from ancient times to General Mills. Yafa tours commercial factories where the needs of mass production trump the primacy of nutrition, and reports on the artisan grain revolution. From a Woodstock-like Kneading Conference to nutrition labs to a boutique bakery and pasta maker’s workshop in Brooklyn, he also finds that there may in fact be a perfect source of wheat-based nutrition. Its name is sourdough.

For readers of Salt Sugar Fat and The Omnivore's Dilemma, Grain of Truth smoothly blends science, history, biology, economics, and nutrition to give us back our daily bread.

Specifications

Country
USA
Author
Stephen Yafa
Binding
Hardcover
EAN
9781594632495
ISBN
1594632499
Label
Avery
Manufacturer
Avery
NumberOfItems
1
NumberOfPages
304
PublicationDate
2015-05-12
Publisher
Avery
ReleaseDate
2015-05-12
Studio
Avery
Please Note

The authorised South African distributor of this product is under no obligation to honour the manufacture's guarantees/warranties or to provide after-sales service.

Please note that this product is based in the USA, and is designed and labelled to be used in the USA. In addition, if the unit is powered it will come with a US plug and an adapter/transformer may be required. Please click here for more information on power requirements, or check with us if you are unsure or need any assistance!

Please also note that certain items cannot be imported, these include Alcohol, Agricultural Remedies, Animals, Batteries, Flammable Materials, Farm Feeds, Currency, Food, Furs, Chemicals, Explosives, Medications, Plants, Poinsons, Seeds, Supplements, Nutrients, Pressurized Cans, Tactical Equipment, Vitamins, Weaponry and Weaponry Accessories. In these cases, information displayed above is for reference/informational purposes only and the item will not be imported. All content is generated and displayed from an automated USA product feed, and if the item cannot be imported for any reason, including carrier restrictions and/or import or sales restrictions under South African or American law, we do reserve the right to cancel and refund the order in full. If you are not sure if we are permitted to bring in an item, please send us an e-mail with a link to the item to confirm.

Please also ensure that you are ordering the correct item for your particular application as returns to the USA are costly. Product reviews are also provided for most of our items, which can give you a good idea for possible things to look out for and the quality of the item. By clicking Add to Cart, you are confirming that the item is correct and you accept the conditions listed here.