LiveZilla Live Chat Software
Importitall
Register/Login Login Contact UsContacts BlogBlog
Cart Items : 0 | Cart Total : R0
Books > Literature & Fiction > Essays & Correspondence > Essays > 0679450122
  1. Heart of Home:: People, Wildlife, Place
    Image(s) provided for illustrative purposes and may differ from the actual product
  2. Heart of Home:: People, Wildlife, Place

    [0679450122]
    Delivery: 10-20 Working Days
    Customer Ratings (12 reviews)
    Price R445.00

     pinterest 
Similar Products

Out There: In the Wild in a Wired AgePukka's Promise: The Quest for Longer-Lived DogsPukka: The Pup After MerlePukka's Promise: The Quest for Longer-Lived DogsReturn of the Wild: The Future Of Our National LandsMerle's Door: Lessons from a Freethinking DogReturn of the Wild: The Future Of Our National LandsMerle's Door: Lessons from a Freethinking DogBloodties: Nature, Culture, and the Hunt
Specifications

Country
USA
Author
Ted Kerasote
Binding
Hardcover
Brand
Brand: Villard
EAN
9780679450122
Edition
1st
Feature
Used Book in Good Condition
ISBN
0679450122
Label
Villard
Manufacturer
Villard
NumberOfItems
1
NumberOfPages
250
PublicationDate
1997-12-16
Publisher
Villard
ReleaseDate
1997-12-16
Studio
Villard
Most Helpful Customer Reviews

It is excellent. I've read most of his books and like them all.
Heart of Home is a wonderfull collection of essays by a man who appreciates the natural world and writes about it beautifully. Kerasote writes from personal experiences in a very intimate manner. He is a believable and knowledgable author, resulting in an easy to read collection of pleasant essays. Also in this collection are some essays about vegetarianism and veganism that are quite refreshing and unique. Fans of Doug Peacock, Barry Lopez, or even Thoreau will enjoy Kerasote's work. I can't see someone being dissappointed with Heart of Home.
From my own embattled childhood, I came to believe that happy people were, by definition, shallow. Fortunately, I eventually met someone who wasn't, who opened my eyes to the possibility of deep joy in mindful participation in life, in love of the messy old world, without denying or diminishing the unavoidable pain. Ted Kerasote's work is steeped in this experience, and Heart of Home is one beautiful expression of it. Never a partisan of causes like animal rights, still his compassion for even the smallest, most easily overlooked lives -- rodents nesting among the roots of a tree being cut down to build a house, earthworms killed when planting a garden -- inspires him to think hard about how he might avoid or minimise harming them, to incorporate these thoughts in his actions, to feel sorrow for what can't be avoided whatever one chooses, and yet to joyously build his house and grow his vegetables in a spirit of gratitude. This book is a rigorous yet gentle response to hard-liners... Read more
Please Note

The authorised South African distributor of this product is under no obligation to honour the manufacture's guarantees/warranties or to provide after-sales service.

Please note that this item is imported from the USA, and is designed to be used in the USA. In addition, if the unit is powered it will come with a US plug and an adapter/transformer may be required. Please click here for more information on power requirements, or check with us if you are unsure or need any assistance!

Please also note that certain items cannot be imported, these include Alcohol, Animals, Batteries, Flammable Materials, Currency, Food, Furs, Chemicals, Explosives, Medications, Plants, Seeds, Supplements, Pressurized Cans, Tactical Equipment, Vitamins, Weaponry and Weaponry Accessories. In these cases, the item and information is displayed for reference purposes only. If you are not sure if we are permitted to bring an item, please send us an e-mail with a link to the item to confirm.

Please also ensure that you are ordering the correct item for your particular application as returns to the USA are costly. Product reviews are also provided for most of our items, which can give you a good idea for possible things to look out for and the quality of the item. By clicking Add to Cart, you are confirming that the item is correct and you accept the conditions listed here.