LiveZilla Live Chat Software
Importitall
Register/Login Login Contact UsContacts BlogBlog
Cart Items : 0 | Cart Total : R0
Books > Children's Books > Literature & Fiction > 0694001902
  1. Machines at Work
    Machines at Work
    Machines at Work
    Image(s) provided for illustrative purposes and may differ from the actual product
  2. Machines at Work

    [0694001902]
    Delivery: 10-20 Working Days
    Customer Ratings (62 reviews)
    Price R486.00

     pinterest 
Additional Information

Byron Barton's classic book about a busy day at the construction site is perfect for fans of Richard Scarry and Tom Lichtenheld!

Rhythmic text and bold, graphic illustrations convey all the energy and excitement of the day while workers use a variety of machines to knock down a building and begin constructing a new one. Young readers will love learning the names of the machines while seeing them at work.

Supports the Common Core State Standards.

Similar Products

Trucks Board BookBuilding a House (Mulberry Books)AirportThe Construction Alphabet BookBoats Board BookTrainsPlanes Board BookI Want to Be an Astronaut
Specifications

Country
USA
Author
Byron Barton
Binding
Hardcover
Brand
Harper Collins
EAN
9780694001903
Edition
1st
Feature
Great product!
ISBN
0694001902
Label
HarperCollins
Manufacturer
HarperCollins
MPN
9780694001903
NumberOfItems
1
NumberOfPages
32
PartNumber
9780694001903
PublicationDate
1987-09-25
Publisher
HarperCollins
ReleaseDate
1987-09-25
Studio
HarperCollins
Most Helpful Customer Reviews

When you write as many reviews of children's books as I do (and is there any more pompous way to begin a sentence, I wonder) you sometimes find yourself at a loss for words when it comes to the simpler ones. And author/illustrator Byron Barton is, if nothing else, the patron saint of picture book straightforwardness. There is no wry undertone to a Barton book. No sly wit. No winks or nods to parents and educators beneath the simple childlike text. Nope. Byron Barton is an author that writes stories for children and children alone. In "Machines At Work", Barton (who's millions of books have covered every topic from planes to dinosaurs) tackles that perpetual toddler fascination - - the worksite.

In this particular book, we observe a wide variety of small workers (male, female, white, black, etc.) off to work. Some climb readily into their machines. Others dictate instructions from below. For this day, the workers knock down a building, bulldoze trees, dump rubble, take a... Read more
When I first got this for my son (2 years), I thought "What a snooze-fest!" We were still high on the Mo Willems wave, still in love with Knuffle Bunny and the slightly off-kilter viewpoint of the Pigeon, so the utter barrenness and simplicity of Machines at Work honestly put me off. But, as it is all about the baby (and don't he know it!), Connor simply loves it! Although he is fickle (we have now moved on to the pop-up Bug series by David A. Carter) it firmly held the New Boy Times #1 bedseller slot for a good 3 weeks (an eternity to the toddler set). It also was known to douse many a tantrum (great diversion - "I know you just ka-bonked your head on the dining room table for the fortieth time today, but LOOK AT THESE COOL TRUCKS!") and entertain on long car rides.

The story (as it is) involves a diverse work crew doing stuff with simple 4-5 word narration for each page. It is so simple, it is almost zen-like. And Connor came to be able to repeat each phrase as we turned... Read more
My 3 1/2 year old loves this book. And I love it too. For me, it's fun and easy to read. There is only one sentence on each set of pages, and it is in large letters. After each page that I read, my son repeats it. I don't mind reading this one again and again.
Please Note

The authorised South African distributor of this product is under no obligation to honour the manufacture's guarantees/warranties or to provide after-sales service.

Please note that this item is imported from the USA, and is designed to be used in the USA. In addition, if the unit is powered it will come with a US plug and an adapter/transformer may be required. Please click here for more information on power requirements, or check with us if you are unsure or need any assistance!

Please also note that certain items cannot be imported, these include Alcohol, Animals, Batteries, Flammable Materials, Currency, Food, Furs, Chemicals, Explosives, Medications, Plants, Seeds, Supplements, Pressurized Cans, Tactical Equipment, Vitamins, Weaponry and Weaponry Accessories. In these cases, the item and information is displayed for reference purposes only. If you are not sure if we are permitted to bring an item, please send us an e-mail with a link to the item to confirm.

Please also ensure that you are ordering the correct item for your particular application as returns to the USA are costly. Product reviews are also provided for most of our items, which can give you a good idea for possible things to look out for and the quality of the item. By clicking Add to Cart, you are confirming that the item is correct and you accept the conditions listed here.