LiveZilla Live Chat Software
Importitall
Register/Login Login Contact UsContacts BlogBlog
Cart Items : 0 | Cart Total : R0
Books > Literature & Fiction > Literary > B0165I3V06
  1. Missing, Presumed: A Novel
    Image(s) provided for illustrative purposes and may differ from the actual product
  2. Missing, Presumed: A Novel

    [B0165I3V06]
    Delivery: 10-20 Working Days
    Customer Ratings (296 reviews)
    Not Available / Digital Item

     pinterest 
Additional Information

A New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice • A page-turning mystery that brings to life a complex and strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • NAMED ONE OF THE 10 BEST MYSTERIES OF THE YEAR BY THE WALL STREET JOURNAL

“An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George.”—Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer

“Surprise-filled . . . one of the most ambitious police procedurals of the year. Detective Bradshaw’s biting wit is a bonus.”The Wall Street Journal

Missing, Presumed has future BBC miniseries written all over it.”Redbook

“A highly charismatic and engaging story.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This combination of police procedural and an unfolding family drama that continuously twists and turns will work well for fans of Kate Atkinson and Tana French.”Booklist

At thirty-nine, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleep—and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene.

Edith Hind—a beautiful graduate student at Cambridge University and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Family—has been missing for nearly twenty-four hours. Her home offers few clues: a smattering of blood in the kitchen, her keys and phone left behind, the front door ajar but showing no signs of forced entry. Manon instantly knows that this case will be big—and that every second is crucial to finding Edith alive.

The investigation starts with Edith’s loved ones: her attentive boyfriend, her reserved best friend, her patrician parents. As the search widens and press coverage reaches a frenzied pitch, secrets begin to emerge about Edith’s tangled love life and her erratic behavior leading up to her disappearance. With no clear leads, Manon summons every last bit of her skill and intuition to close the case, and what she discovers will have shocking consequences not just for Edith’s family but for Manon herself.

Suspenseful and keenly observed, Missing, Presumed is a brilliantly twisting novel of how we seek connection, grant forgiveness, and reveal the truth about who we are.

Praise for Missing, Presumed

“Smart, stylish . . . Manon is portrayed with an irresistible blend of sympathy and snark. By the time she hits bottom, professionally and privately, we’re entirely caught up in her story.”The New York Times Book Review

“Nuanced suspense that’s perfect for Kate Atkinson fans.”People

“Drenched in character and setting, with pinpoint detail that breathes life and color into every sentence.”The News & Observer

“You might come to Missing, Presumed for the police procedural; you’ll stay for the layered, authentic characters that Steiner brings to life.”—Bethanne Patrick, NPR

“Where [Susie] Steiner excels is in the depth and clarity with which she depicts her characters. . . . It all adds up to a world that feels much bigger than the novel in which it is contained.”The Guardian

Similar Products

All Things Cease to Appear: A novelHis Bloody Project: Documents Relating to the Case of Roderick Macrae (Man Booker Prize Finalist 2016)The Dry: A NovelThe Trespasser: A NovelOut of Bounds (Karen Pirie)Under the Harrow: A NovelYou Will Know Me: A NovelWilde Lake: A NovelEvery Man a Menace: A Novel
Specifications

Country
USA
Author
Susie Steiner
Binding
Kindle Edition
Edition
Reprint
EISBN
9780812998337
Format
Kindle eBook
Label
Random House
Manufacturer
Random House
NumberOfPages
369
PublicationDate
2016-06-28
Publisher
Random House
ReleaseDate
2016-06-28
Studio
Random House
Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Manon Bradshaw, identifies herself as a Detective Sargeant in the Cambridgeshire Major Incident Division, and as a very lonely 39 year old woman. Her life is her work, and the endless meetings with men she has met via a dating service. None have proved to be the right man, but she continues to meet up, almost every evening. Does she give off the air of desperation, maybe. But, it is her work that brings the most pleasure, and her colleagues are her best friends.

A young Cambridge graduate student has gone missing. Her boyfriend found the door to their home open, blood streaked on the wall, and all the coats layng on the floor. This is Manon's case, along with her partner, Davy, and her Detective Inspector Harriet. Thus begins the investigation into a very long and involved case of looking for Edith Hinds.

What I really liked about this book, is that the story is told from differing perspectives of all of the involved characters. Manon gets the most narration,... Read more
"Missing, Presumed" is a brilliant new mystery I couldn't put down. I read it in one long satisfied sitting. It's a complex story with a large number of characters, but not so many that one needs a separate notebook to track them all. They are fully fleshed out with a wide variety of back stories. These people are like most people anywhere. Some of them I liked sometimes, some I liked almost always and others I didn't like at all. Just like life.

Because the story takes place in the UK some expressions maybe unfamiliar, but (on the Kindle App anyway) the linked UK dictionary and Wiki will answer any questions.

The story moves on at a good pace and there seemed to be little lag in forward movement. The book has a surprising, satisfying ending. I am looking forward to this author's next book.
There is some really good writing in this book and as press reviewers have mentioned the lead detective is beautifully flawed in the manner of Jane Tennison from Prime Suspect and Denise Mina's Paddy Meehan, though definitely not as compelling yet. If this is the start of a series, it has potential. The architecture of this story though has some major foundational cracks and the absolute neatness with which everything is wrapped up is OTT. Apparently, there are no random actions in the world which though momentarily satisfying, on reflection strains credulity. There is a red-herring romance (actually several) that makes no sense and in one case is meant to introduce some tension into the story (could this be our killer?) but once the romance ends it just seems like wasted space since it neither advances the story or really illuminates or changes the major character who experiences it. What made this story for me was the obvious room for growth in the main characters and their... Read more
Please Note

The authorised South African distributor of this product is under no obligation to honour the manufacture's guarantees/warranties or to provide after-sales service.

Please note that this item is imported from the USA, and is designed to be used in the USA. In addition, if the unit is powered it will come with a US plug and an adapter/transformer may be required. Please click here for more information on power requirements, or check with us if you are unsure or need any assistance!

Please also note that certain items cannot be imported, these include Alcohol, Animals, Batteries, Flammable Materials, Currency, Food, Furs, Chemicals, Explosives, Medications, Plants, Seeds, Supplements, Pressurized Cans, Tactical Equipment, Vitamins, Weaponry and Weaponry Accessories. In these cases, the item and information is displayed for reference purposes only. If you are not sure if we are permitted to bring an item, please send us an e-mail with a link to the item to confirm.

Please also ensure that you are ordering the correct item for your particular application as returns to the USA are costly. Product reviews are also provided for most of our items, which can give you a good idea for possible things to look out for and the quality of the item. By clicking Add to Cart, you are confirming that the item is correct and you accept the conditions listed here.