LiveZilla Live Chat Software
Importitall
Register/Login Login Contact UsContacts BlogBlog
Cart Items : 0 | Cart Total : R0
Books > Teen & Young Adult > Literature & Fiction > B013PKDS5A
  1. This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity)
    Image(s) provided for illustrative purposes and may differ from the actual product
  2. This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity)

    [B013PKDS5A]
    Delivery: 10-20 Working Days
    Customer Ratings (168 reviews)
    Not Available / Digital Item

     pinterest 
Additional Information

#1 New York Times Bestseller * An Amazon Best Book of the Year

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

Similar Products

The ArchivedThe Unbound: An Archived NovelVicious (Villains)A Conjuring of Light: A Novel (Shades of Magic)A Gathering of Shadows: A Novel (Shades of Magic)And I DarkenCaravalCrooked Kingdom: A Sequel to Six of CrowsA Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire, Book One)
Specifications

Country
USA
Author
Victoria Schwab
Binding
Kindle Edition
EISBN
9780062380876
Format
Kindle eBook
Label
Greenwillow Books
Manufacturer
Greenwillow Books
NumberOfPages
469
PublicationDate
2016-07-05
Publisher
Greenwillow Books
ReleaseDate
2016-07-05
Studio
Greenwillow Books
Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Started out a bit slow for me, but this is Victoria Schwab we're talking about so I had no worries. The story just kept building and building towards the finale and as it went I become more and more hooked. I didn't want to put it down or have it end.

I loved the idea that monsters form out of the shadows of violence. Three different types of monsters: Malchai which form when an act of murder is committed; Corsai form from violent actions; and Sunai the most rare form out of the most tragic of losses, bombings, mass shootings, etc. They came about after an event called the Phenomenon, where all the built of violent energy just pretty much coalesced and brought forth the monsters.

The juxtaposition of monsters and humans, and what it means to be one or the other, or the perception of what it means to be one or the other, is a big concept throughout the book as both August (the "monster") and Kate (the human) struggle with their place in the world... Read more
Minor spoilers ahead.

I was pretty excited to get into This Savage Song when I got through A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows. I waited too long to read those books (therefore missing out on ears of awareness that such a great series existed). So I wasn’t going to wait to read This Savage Song when I got my hands on it. This story is definitely a different beast than what I am used to with Schwab. I didn’t really know what to expect after reading the synopsis, only that I was in for a great read. If there is a consensus out there for her books, it’s that she has an amazing ability to make, as Ariadne from Inception would say it, pure creation.

Let me start out by saying that I absolutely love the character of August. If you see my ratting report above, then you are certainly aware. I love him to bits. Maybe not as much as I love Kell from Shades of Magic, but maybe more than I love Alucard or Rhy (which is saying A LOT). He... Read more
Wow. This is my first, true, Victoria Schwab book & I'm simply blown away. You see, once upon a time, I ordered "A Darker Shade of Magic" via Audible & returned it soon after due to me hating the narrator; & me not understanding the whole coat situation. After that ordeal, I figured staying away from her book's is the best thing to do, but something about This Savage Song pulled me in.

&, man oh man, did it take me on a ride.

You see, in the City of Verity there are two sides: North & South. On the North you have Harker, the ruler of that area; the man who makes his citizen's pay for his protection. On the South you have Flynn, who offers protection to those who work his organization, the FTF. Monsters room both parts of Verity, but the North side's allegedly safer due to Harker's protection.

It doesn't stop there.

Monsters now roam the Earth; not all of them like the ones going bump in the night. Corsai, are the typical monster that... Read more
Please Note

The authorised South African distributor of this product is under no obligation to honour the manufacture's guarantees/warranties or to provide after-sales service.

Please note that this item is imported from the USA, and is designed to be used in the USA. In addition, if the unit is powered it will come with a US plug and an adapter/transformer may be required. Please click here for more information on power requirements, or check with us if you are unsure or need any assistance!

Please also note that certain items cannot be imported, these include Alcohol, Animals, Batteries, Flammable Materials, Currency, Food, Furs, Chemicals, Explosives, Medications, Plants, Seeds, Supplements, Pressurized Cans, Tactical Equipment, Vitamins, Weaponry and Weaponry Accessories. In these cases, the item and information is displayed for reference purposes only. If you are not sure if we are permitted to bring an item, please send us an e-mail with a link to the item to confirm.

Please also ensure that you are ordering the correct item for your particular application as returns to the USA are costly. Product reviews are also provided for most of our items, which can give you a good idea for possible things to look out for and the quality of the item. By clicking Add to Cart, you are confirming that the item is correct and you accept the conditions listed here.